You are here

Rights of Access of Land-Locked States to and from the Sea and Freedom of Transit

  • Author: UN
  • Publication date: January 1987
  • Page count: 126
  • Language(s) in this book: English
  • Sales number: 87.V.5

Available Formats


About the product

The Convention on the Law of the Sea defines a 'land-state' as one which has no sea coast. Thirty states fall into this category, 14 in Africa, 5 in Asia, 9 in Europe and 2 in Latin America. The Convention, through the provisions of its Part X, aims at providing those states with the right of access to and from the sea and reinforces their freedom of transit. This publication focuses on the historical evolution of these provisions, taking into account previous instruments, declarations, proposals, negotiation texts and other relevant documents which led to the final text of the Convention.